Multiple rifles in the same caliber - what's the point?

Beezer

I have 2 Remington 30-06's. One is a 700 bolt action and the other is a 742 Woodsmaster semi-automatic.

I inherited both these guns from my grandfather. I'm fairly new to gun ownership and shooting. Is there a good reason for keeping 2 guns of the same caliber? Sure, one is a semi automatic, but are they different enough or have enough different applications to keep both?

I ask because I am considering selling the semi-automatic to outfit the bolt-action rifle. The bolt-action will be used mostly for target shooting and hunting. I can't think of what I'd use the semi-auto for that would be different from the bolt-action.

If you don't have a need for the semi auto, then sell it. However, most gun owners will tell you they regret selling about 90% of the firearms they let go.

As for having multiple guns in the same caliber? It's a personal preference for some. Less boxes of ammo you need to keep around to do multiple jobs.

Because 2 is 1 and 1 is none if Murphy comes callin' .......

It'd be better if they were of the same make and model, but if 1 fails, you'd still have another to shoot your -06 ammo .....

Although the calibers match, the rifles are very different. I think I would keep both of them unless money is very tight. They were your grandfather's which may or not be important to you now but it might be more important later on. It should not be that expensive to outfit a 700 to an adequate target or hunting rifle. Semi-auto's are a lot of fun, even the Woodsmaster.

sometimes multiple rifles in the same caliber can be a difference of application or mood. I have a 1903 springfield, M1 garand and ruger M77 MKII in 3006. the 1903 is rarely fired and when done so only fires light loads, the M1 usually is for competition shooting and the M77 is for hunting and whatever else I feel like doing.