Why all the Taurus hate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PatrickBateman

I'm really curious, I'm fairly new to firearms, and I noticed pretty much everyone bashes Taurus. Whats the issue with them? Are they really as bad as people make them out to be? It seems like they make some really nice firearms..

<<<See post #77 on page 4 before posting. JohnKSa>>>​

My experience is they're a crapshoot. My first 357 magnum was a Taurus and was excellent followed by a 38 snub that was terrible then a second 357 that again was excellent.

total crap shoot

Gary

Some have had problems with various Taurus products, then had problems with Taurus customer service getting them fixed. Or at least that's how the story goes. Then many more jump on the band wagon bashing Taurus because all the "cool kids" do.
I can't say personally, and that's all I can go by. My two Taurus handguns have been excellent from the time I took them out of the box. My good friend had a problem with one of several Taurus guns he owns. He called Taurus, got instructions on sending it in, and it was returned, in perfect working condition in less than three weeks.
But I've got another Taurus or two on my list, so I'll continue searching for that illusive (to me) "bad" Taurus, and see for my self what their CS is like.:D

My only criticism is some of their goofy ideas. A revolver with a Lexan see-through side plate, and a semi-auto with a curved frame for two.

You might want to check what actual owners have to say on the Taurus Forum.
http://www.taurusarmed.net/forums/forum.php

Last edited:
Taurus makes good, well-designed guns that sell at a reasonable price. The problem is that their quality control has not always been what it should be, with the result that different people can buy even the same model and have widely varying experiences. Or a person can buy different guns at different times and have the same situation.