Switched to a revolver for ccw...

Ridgerunner665

I'm a slow learner I guess... I've been carrying for 25 years, and only just now I've found what I've been looking for the whole time.

A good old fashioned wheel gun.

I'm not sure exactly what took me so long, but I'm blaming it mostly on "capacity envy".

I never cared for revolvers much, never shot them much, just really had no interest in them. Then a few months ago I found a like new Ruger Blackhawk 41 mag in the gun store, it was produced in 1998 but is still in like new condition... I brought it home...it taught me that I can shoot revolvers a lot better than I ever could a semi-auto, and I do OK with semi-auto pistols.

I like the recoil, the solid but not painful "thump"... Makes me smile every time... Revolver recoil is like revolver triggers, clean and crisp... Glock recoil is like Glock triggers, "spongy".

It was months in the making, but the big Ruger single action convinced me to buy a double action for carry. I started researching Ruger and S&W, I eventually settled on a Ruger SP101 3 inch 357 mag.

I had to have all steel because I shoot a lot, I appreciate the weight and its advantages in a 357 revolver, and if I run out of ammo I can hit them over the head with it.

A fun fact... At 32 ounces loaded the 3 inch SP101 is 4 ounces lighter than my Glock 32... Its no pocket gun to be sure, but I don't pocket carry anyway.

I mostly carry appendix (1 o'clock) , and the SP101 carries WAAAAAAY better than the Glock 32 in that position, on me at least. It just disappears under a t-shirt, completely. There is no beavertail poking me when I bend over either.

I did have some trouble finding an appendix holster for it, I ended up using a Glock 32 holster that it just happens to fit decently well with the retention screw removed... A High Noon Mr. Softy holster (~$32)...it is a little short to fully cover the barrel so I ordered one for a Glock 17, longer and covers the barrel, but otherwise the same.