Shoulder holster opinions

NateKirk

I've been thinking on getting a vertical shoulder holster to carry my CZ 75 around in for the winter. Anyone use a shoulder holster? Anyone hate them? I've never used one or even tried one on before.

Seeing as how in the winter I usually am wearing a coat around town, and hardly ever take it off (I just unbutton it while indoors,) a shoulder holster would be a more accessible but still concealable option than an OWB or IWB holster, just because I could just reach down the front of my coat, instead of trying to reach back under a heavy winter coat. Your thoughts?

I'm just one man, with limited experience.

But...
I found vertical-draw shoulder holsters to be very close to useless if there are ANY layers on top of them.

Open-carry ... sure.

Concealed at all ... nope.

Well, if you get something like an Uncle Mike's that attaches to your belt, you can eliminate your suspenders.

The vertical shoulder holster is actually good if you're sitting a lot. Or driving a lot.

Finding a good holster is a chore. One that I've NOT mastered.

I carry a 1911 vertical in mine. Works and conceals fine with a light shirt or flannel.. Not made for fast draw.

83340789ee3e1b69c1c821ccd81e4338.jpg

Maybe this explains it, its vertical but you can draw easily, but it's firmly secured

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've got several shoulder rigs, the leather Bianchi is the best of the makes I have, especially for a big pistol like a 1911 or a CZ 75.

I prefer vertical to horizontal carry. It's certainly the best carry while seated.

Lol

I figured out the spelling when I actually looked at it.

It's not the best form of carrying, but it's great to go on a hike, or a walk in the neighborhood with sweatpants and a wind breaker.

I prefer IWB, but the shoulder holster is nice in certain occasions.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If you can borrow one of the holsters for a day or two and practice drawing in various combinations of clothing.