Purchasing a shotgun out of state

Status
Not open for further replies.

XDforever

I am a Texas resident with a Texas issued CHL. I find myself in Iowa from now until mid October.

I know I cannot purchase and take possession of a handgun while here. What about a shotgun? Do long guns have the same restrictions?

Joe

I believe the contiguous state rule (under federal law) was repealed quite some time ago.

At the federal level, long guns may be purchased by an out-of-state resident, provided that the sale and possession of same complies with the requirements of both states, and if the transfer is done face-to-face at the FFL's place of business.
Congress said:
(b) It shall be unlawful for any licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector to sell or deliver-- . . .

(2) any firearm to any person in any State where the purchase or possession by such person of such firearm would be in violation of any State law or any published ordinance applicable at the place of sale, delivery or other disposition, unless the licensee knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the purchase or possession would not be in violation of such State law or such published ordinance;