Pulled the trigger on a Mosin 91/30...

Albacore

Please don't bash me for starting a new thread just to declare my new purchase. I am just excited to have bought a Soviet M91/30. It's my first milsurp, and I look forward to firing it. I am fairly new to the gun thing, but am getting hooked pretty quickly. My first purchase was a Ruger 10/22 that I just picked up on Sunday. Now I wait ten more days for my Mosin. I have two #440 cans of 7.62x54 on the way. Mine was made in 1943. How safe are these things to shoot? Can I shoot it on a regular basis providing I clean and maintain it well?

First, welcome.

Why would anyone bash you for posting? If they do, that's just their way of saying "welcome".

Congrats on your new 91/30. Just make sure the gun is completely "cosmoline-free" before firing. Follow the guide on this site and you're good to go:
http://www.surplusrifle.com/russianmosin189130/index.asp

Going from a 10/22 to a MN91/30 is going to be exciting for you (and a little painful if you haven't shot a mil-surp before).

Don't worry about the nay-sayers, just be safe and have fun with your new toy.

Congrats! Mosins are great fun. As long as you have the right ammo, and clean it well you can shoot it all you want. I have two of them myself.

Mine was also a 1943 manufacture. It shoots fine. Gook luck removing all of the grease. If it probably safe to shoot. If you are really worried then bring it to a gun smith.

Loads of fun for short money. Web site info has already been provided and I have a 1939 and a 1930. With a little TLC they are great buys. Here is another place for info and parts if ever needed,
www.surplusrifle.com
www.tickbitesupply.com
If you should desire more info just ask.
I like the rubber butt pads from tickbite they help the shoulder from a bunch of pounding.

Welcome to the Forum, and to the wonderful world of milsurps!!!