NY pistol permit DENIED!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

firstnonly

Inactive
Hi everyone,

I'm a resident on Westchester County, in wonderful NY:rolleyes:. I'm looking to get some advice on my current pistol permit dilemma.....here it goes:

Applied for a Westchester County pistol permit back in 06, just for sport shooting (no ccw). I waited 8 months for a response and was denied. The denial was based on a disorderly conduct arrest, along with unlicensed operation in 2002. The grounds for denial were that I "Lack the moral character necessary to posses a handgun". I spoke with a layer who informed me about filing an article 78 to appeal the decision, but ultimately he felt I would be better waiting a year and re-applying.

I waited and re-applied in September of 09.............Just got my response in the mail and DENIED AGAIN!!!!!!!!

I have yet again been denied on the same grounds of "Lacking moral character". My record is clean aside from that one incident in 2002. I'm really just shocked that I have been denied again....I guess the fact that I am the responsible owner of 2 long guns doesn't come into play when it comes to a pistol.

I will be filing the article 78 this time, although I'm not that optimistic about the outcome.

Anyone have a similar situation?

Any pointers on how to purse this?

Disorderly conduct is a serious crime and I can't say I'm suprised you were denied because of it. Here in WI your background would not have passed with that either. You can appeal as many times as you want but that is on your record for the rest of your life.
In the future think before you break the law.

Disorderly conduct is a serious crime

You can be charged with Disorderly conduct for many things, some of which I wouldn't consider a "serious crime"

Section 240.20 Disorderly conduct

A person is guilty of disorderly conduct when, with intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof: