My first Weatherby

stagpanther

Well, I've been tuning them and doing handloads for customers for several years now, and they have teasing me about getting one myself--so I finally broke down and ordered my very first Weatherby, a vanguard first light in 300 Weatherby magnum. I chose this over the Mk 5's because it comes with a longer 28" barrel and intregal brake and is also quite light in weight.

Drive it like you stole it. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

I know of at least half a dozen that have gone through my family. I wouldn't be surprised if there were another half dozen that I never heard about, or have forgotten about.

I inherited a Vanguard .338 WM a couple years ago. A few other people in the family say it shoots very well, and my father liked it enough to take it on one of his trips to Africa. But, I haven't even put a box worth of ammo through it yet. The scope's zero is wacky and the time that I have had available for chasing demons has been better spent on other rifles/projects. (Since I'm a Nikon hater, I'll just mention that it's a Nikon scope. ;) Came with the rifle.)

As you probably also think, since you bought one, I believe they're decent rifles.

.300 Wby Mag, though... The only Vanguard that was universally hated by my family and "disposed of" was a .300 Wby Mag. The rifle was fine. But no one liked the cartridge. Too overbore. Too inefficient. Too much recoil and muzzle blast for the performance gained over .300 WM.

My father, an unabashed 'magnum'-lover, tried to like it. He just couldn't. So, he traded it to his brother, a 'recoil junkie' himself, who quickly turned around and arranged another trade that returned it to my father. (Said brother/uncle did eventually end up with another .300 Wby, which he never shoots.)

My father then took the rifle to Africa -- ostensibly, as a 'backup'; but I think his intentions were transparent.