My First Pistol M&P Shield 9 mm

SPatC

Inactive
Born and raised in Canada, I recently got my green card in the US and bought a pistol as a welcome to the US present. I went with an M&P Shield in 9 mm. Spent $340 for the gun plus 200 rounds of blazer brass range ammo. Seemed like a good deal.

One thing I notice on the gun is that the slide lock in very stiff to release. I have not yet broken the gun in. I intend to take a practical pistol safety course at my local range before I ever load a round. Still, is the slide lock normally so stiff (impossible to actuate) out of a new pistol?

I have extensive experience with long guns, but not so much with pistols. Royal Canadian Army Cadets as a child and Royal Canadian Army Reserve as an adult.

Congrats on the new pistol.
The Shield slide release is very stiff on mine, and has not gotten better in the past 2000 rounds or so. I slingshot the slide anyways, so its not a real issue for me.

Nice choice, especially for a first gun. Mine can be carried everywhere, is easy to shoot, accurate, and has been functionally perfect.

Like the previous poster said, just pull back on the slide to release it.

If you really mean that you haven’t loaded a round, using the slide release with an empty magazine is particularly difficult. You are supposed to have rounds in the mag for that.

Welcome to TFL and to pistol ownership!

I think you got a pretty good deal on that Shield. I also slingshot my slide, so I'd have to go check how stiff my slide lock is. By "impossible to actuate," do you mean that you cannot use it to lock the slide back, or that you cannot use it to release the slide?

Cannot use it to release the slide. I have had 3 different people try it. A glock 21 user, an XD40 user, and a 1911 user, and they all had to use two hands to release the slide.

Exactly. Rack the slide to release it. With an empty magazine, the magazine follower is pressing up making it more difficult.