Match Champion vs 627

Surp

I am looking to buy my first revolver and these are two that have stuck out to me.

I like the GP because.
It's lighter
It's smaller
It's cheaper
It looks better
I'm kind of a fan of Rugers
http://www.ruger.com/products/gp100MatchChampion/models.html

I like the Smith because.
It holds 8 rounds
It's probably more refined
A little more prestigious
http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/...57775_757751_757751_ProductDisplayErrorView_Y

But really at the end of the day I know basically nothing about either of these firearms seeing as I have no hands on experience with them and since I can't find either to get some first hand experience I come to you to ask opinions.

I have also looked at the 686 SSR which puts Smith on the same playing filed as the Ruger as far as size and weight but also consequently takes what I see as one of the biggest advantages of the 627 in the 2 extra rounds. Not to mention it still has that slightly fugly look.

My use for this is going to be slapping an optic on it and shooting anywhere from 10 to 100 yards (maybe farther if I'm really feeling crazy) but even though right now longer range stuff is the motivation who knows what the future will hold so versatility is also important.

Last edited:
Hmm, for optics and versatility you might want to consider a regular GP - 4, 5, or 6" barrel as it suits your fancy

I did consider just buying a GP and doing what I want to it myself but decided against that because the Match champ is already a big step in the direction I would be heading with a standard GP anyway.

What would make you say a standard GP is more versatile or better suited for optics?

Get a standard GP100 if you're going to scope it.

The Match Champ is not worth the premium for what you want to do with it, methinks.

Not much of a premium really at around 100 bucks.