Large Dog at the door!

Mags

I live in NH and work in MA. I have another thread about just getting my LTC in MA. I'm a plumber but am also the Plumbing Inspector for a bordering town in MA. The other day I went on an inspection to a home. It was a side by side duplex but the numbers weren't marked very well. I walked up to a screen door but it had the glass in it. I knocked and out of no where a large dog charged the doorand hit it very hard. Good thing the door was latched! It scratched and barked at the door with a vicouse growl! The lady next door came out and directed to her door where I'm suppose to be doing the inspection. It startled me pretty good and got me thinking. What if just the screen was on the door? What if the door wasnt completly latched? I jst got my LTC in MA today and am now legal. I'm deffinetly going to be carrying on my inspections now. If that dog attacked at least I might have a fighting chance to get to my gun and protect myself. That is the last inpspection I'll be doing with out my fire arm!

Personally, I'd rely on bear/pepper spray instead.

If you discharge that firearm while inspecting for a city/state, you might lose your job, even if a dog is threatening you. A city/state will get really nervous and upset when a city/state employee discharges a firearm; ask any police officer.

If you miss with a firearm, that round will go right through the wall and into another unit, and maybe into a person inside the other unit. The spray won't penetrate into another apartment.

I'm not trying to make you mad or to insult you. JMHO, and another option to consider. :)

"If you discharge that firearm while inspecting for a city/state, you might lose your job, even if a dog is threatening you. A city/state will get really nervous and upset when a city/state employee discharges a firearm; ask any police officer. "

I really didn't think of that. I just started this job in August, I never worked for a city/town before. Excellent point.