how much can you bench?

Long ago and far away I could bench 350 freebar. 25 years later I MIGHT be able to do my body weight.

I read in the paper this week that Larry Allen of the Cowboys was benching somewhere between 650 and 700 lbs. Un-effin-real.

I with Spectre, I can do my body weight plus a couple of pouds, but does it matter? Nah probably not unless I am moving pianos or get into a wrestling match. I have vowed never to do either again.:)

325 lbs when I was a junior in high school. That was 18 years ago, but since that was the last time I attempted to "max-out", I'll go with that figure. :rolleyes:

When I was a freshman in college I did 12 reps of 225 lbs. That was 16 years ago. I weighed 150 lbs. at the time, and now I weight 200 lbs. I think I could bench press my weight now, but not much more.

To get into the spirit of the Forum: If I tried to bench-press enough weight to notice, my 67-year old, arthritic shoulders would quickly tell me to quit that foolishness.

That's why you never hassle an old guy. He won't fight you--but you may well lose. Old guys already been to lots of funerals.

:), Art

"I don't have any enemies. I outlived 'em."

Right now, my workout weight is 300lbs, and I have maxed 500lbs. The 500 was months ago, so I don't know about now. Still working out with 300.

Ditto the "roughly my body weight" thing...

This simply shows that the "handguns as an equalizer of physical strength" idea doesn't just apply to average women vs. rapists. Up against a 6'3" 326lb guy that can bench twice his weight, most of us would be in deep, deep trouble. Heck, it would be hard enough to stop somebody of that size and conditioning with a handgun! Starts to make a person paranoid about stopping power and all that...

- AP

Note: Larry's probably a great guy...this is just an example!