Houston I think we have a problem

jhinalabama

This is the end of my rem 700 sps tac .308 muzzle. That will not shoot a good group. What are your thoughts, this is the first one I have ever seen.rem 700 muzzle.JPG

Ouch! cutting 1/2" - 1" off the end might be an option of last resort if a smith can't repair it.

I'm no expert, but that looks like tool chatter to me. The QC never should have passed that one...

Call, then send it to Remington??

Discouraging, round count bore age ?
It is generally held that gun barrels wear-out from erosion in the throat. The picture looks more like the physical damage caused by something harder than (or as hard as) the barrel steel, like the steel core of a barrel brush breaking and jamming into the end of the rifling. In short, the problem was not caused by a high round count...somebody jammed something into the muzzle of that rifle that should not have been put there (if that gun was not new). Or it was a manufacturing defect...if the gun is new. If that defect is only near the muzzle, then as someone posted, the affected portion can be cut off and the barrel recrowned.

I suspect that damage had to be caused by something harder than the barrel steel, and therefore, was done during the manufacturing of the rifle.

Yes, it's a new rifle. I bought it new last year. I never could get it to group good. I had inspected the rifle for defects and could never find anything wrong with it until I used a magnifying glass. The picture picks up the defect very good.

A decent machine shop would be able to hone that out without cutting the barrel shorter.

Another alternative would be to counterbore it so as to create a deep
"target crown"

I sent Remington an email describing the problem. Remington's contact us form didn't have a place to attach a picture. I'll let you know what they say.