collapsible batons?

LSU12ga

I am a college student and often have to walk across campus at night. WHile i do feel safe having some sort of protection on me would be nice. guns are illeagal on campus, so i figured the next best thing would be a baton/asp, i can put it in my pocket or carry it when i walk home late at night.

My question to y'all is this, does anyone here have any expierence with these devices, and if so what type should i buy or what should i be looking for. I have seen steel and aluminum batons so i dont know which is best. Any advice would be nice.

Thanks!

personally, i prefer the steel units as the inertia is greater when deployed. who
knows when i may need to use this to break out a car window etc. but!.....you
may also want to review your local laws before purchasing one, to see what the
ramifications are if carrying one in public. some locales have made this option
prohibited

used to carry one in my school bag, steel three peice whip stick, belonged to my father who was a cop. I realized after a while, it was pretty useless unless it was on my belt, and even more so because i didnt have any training with it. Itd probably make a good deterrant if someone tried to rough you up, but other than that its useless unless you know what youre doing its just going to get you into trouble. Either excessive force or itll get taken away from you, and then youre in big trouble.

Side Note: If you want something to bust out car windows, get a centerpunch and keep it in your glove box or on your key chain, its hard to break a car window with a baton when youre upside down and underwater, my grandmother can apply enough pressure to break a window with a centerpunch.....course shes six four two fifty

Be Careful

Many states consider a baton an offensive weapon, and having on on you can be as bad as carrying a gun if you don't have a permit. Florida allows you to carry one with a concealed weapons permit, but Georgia did not.