Can this 9mm claim be true?

if they are are talking about the "extreme penetration" round, then yes, believe it. it seems like a really sweet bullet. like a .30cal Phillip's head going 1300 fps.

at least it looks good in .380. can't find a decent 9mm test, I would be afraid any faster than the .380 might grossly over penetrate
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LczfeWK9lHw

sorry, didn't notice you posted a link at first. looks like good stuff. Hornady is good too

Seems like over penetration for a defense round, but I'm no expert. That's my greatest fear. Passing through a bad guy, and hitting an innocent bystander down range.

That's my greatest fear. Passing through a bad guy, and hitting an innocent bystander down range.

I think you need to re-evaluate your fears.

You may want to do some research on the number of innocent bystanders injured by bullets passing through a bad guy and the number of innocent bystanders injured by shots that completely miss the bad guy.

A bad guy makes a small and inadequate backstop. My overpenetration concerns are more about stray bullets passing through walls into homes occupied by innocents.

I've seen some pretty impressive tests on the Extreme Penetrator rounds. I personally think there is such a thing as too much penetration, though. There is a reason most experts don't recommend FMJ for self defense, and these seem to fall pretty close to that camp, or at least too close for my comfort. The best application I see for something like this is as a bear defense round out of a .357.

Let's see here. 18" of penetration with a 2.5" dia. wound channel would require something in the range of a .50 cal. 600 gr. projectile, with roughly 2,000 ft./lbs. of energy.
Only P.T. Barnum would claim otherwise, but he was wise to human nature.