Buying my first handgun - help needed!

RadekSkylark

Hallo guys.

I'm from Latvia and I'm currently in the process of getting my CCW license - I really hope I'll get it.

I've been thinking about what handgun to buy as my first handgun. It will be used as a self defense weapon - will try to carry it 99% of the time. As the process of getting CCW here in Latvia is quite expensive and as I'm not sure I want to invest a lot of money into my first handgun (as I have no experience with guns), I was thinking of going for some kind of budget handgun.

Here in Latvia the laws are strict:

- One needs to carry a handgun without a round in the chamber with enabled external safety (if gun has one) and with hammer at rest. This means that I'll need to rack the slide of the pistol to set it up for shooting if needed;
- One needs to carry not more than two full magazines of ammo, that is, on in the handgun and another in the holster;
- One is allowed to use only FMJ rounds (no JPH - hallow points);
- One carries only calibers not larger that 9mm in the diameter (basically options are limited to .380 ACP, 9x18 Makarov, 9x19 Parabellum, .38 Special and .357 Magnum).

As for carry environment - I work in office and usually wear tucked in long sleeve shirts (as the ones you wear with a suit) so it seems that I'll be trying to use an IWB holster which will allow tucking, or maybe some kind of holster shirt or something similar. Maybe I'll add a jacket or coat to my wardrobe and will use also a shoulder holster. Weather here in Latvia varies significantly: from -25 C (-13 F) in winter to +30 C (+86 F) in summer, so I will be wearing quite thick gloves in winter and thin gloves in autumn and spring.

For now my options for handgun selection seem to be:
*Pistols:
1) Makarov 9x18 - huge amount of used weapons - costs about 80$ for one in normal condition and around 100-120$ for one in really good condition;
2) Walther PK380 9x17 - used around 310$, new around 460$;