Best Home Defense Shotty?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragger34

I was looking at the Kel-Tec KSG for a home defense shotgun, but the price is still above a Grand from most areas.

I would like to have a 12ga semi-auto shotgun for under $500, but I have no experience with them so I don't know what's most reliable. In fact the only shotgun I have experience with is the 870 Remy. I'd like to have the shortest legally available but with a shoulder stock, with the highest mag capacity, and a red-dot sight and iron sights for back up. Any suggestions?

Last edited:
You won't find a reliable, semi automatic shotgun for under $500, especially with what you are asking.

To get what you want would start in the ballpark of $1,000. And that is before you factor in the cost of an optic.

In my opinion, the best semi-auto home-defense shotgun for the money is the Mossberg 930. It comes in several different configurations for home defense starting at around $600 or even less.

But it looks like the one that fits what you're looking for is the SPX version with an extended mag tube, a pic rail on the receiver, ghost ring sights, and either a normal stock or a stock with a pistol grip. The SPX should run between $700 and $800 depending on where you get it and if it has a stock with a pistol grip.

If you wanted a cheaper gun so you can have more money to customize you can check out the iac hawk 981 it is a 870 clone only part I know won't swap over is the barrel. I just ordered one for around 175 shipped

Semi auto for $600-700 you could get a Saiga12

High mag capacity? How about a 20 round detachable drum loaded with 12GA 00 buckshot.

You just cannot expect answers that help you with that title...

The best HD guns in semi auto are beyond your budget significantly and most of the better pumps are north of $500...