Why do Lee pots leak?

Jerry11826

Why do Lee pots leak?

Started casting in the early ‘80s. Guess I was in late 20's. My first “pot” was the little Lee 10lb. electric. Only cost $10.00 - $20.00.

Worked great, but leaked. After every pour, you needed to use screw driver to twist the “rod” to stop the leaking.

Sent it back to Lee for repair. Lee sent it back to me saying there was nothing wrong. Still leaked! Finally decided, “FTS”.

Purchased an RCBS Pro - Melt. Gosh it was expensive, think was about $200.00. Have never had a problem! No leaks! There is a date stamped on the label, 8/86 or maybe 8/88, difficult to read. I think that means I have been using it for 25 years. I am 66 now.

I was casting about two weeks ago. Turning 40 lbs. of Lyman #2 into 38 special bullets. Noticed how “ratty” the Pro - Melt looked. Some of the paint had come off in the area surrounding the top of the pot. I thought, Jerry, this can’t go on forever. What do I do when it quits?

Retired now. Living on SS. Would be hard to pay for a new Pro - Melt! About $400.00.

Thought about getting a Lee 20 lbs. bottom pour. Much less expensive. But per this forum, they still leak.

Why do Lee pots leak? Can the leaks be fixed, or do I need to start saving to get a new Pro - Melt?

Jerry

I have had a 4-20 for a good time now. I originally purchased it to pour 8oz and heavier surf weights for shark fishing. I used some 2"x2"aluminum square tubing and some 1/4" SS tubing to raise the controls and pot up high enough to alloy the long tubing I used fo pour my weights to fit under it.

That said, I also found the dripping to be an issue then. I pulled the valve stem out, and using some lapping compound, I lapped in the seat and stem to a nice perfect fit. T took about an hour or so of adding, wiping out, and adding in more compound, but once I had mating surfaces I had no more leaks.