Which rifle for elk?

Nimrod2

Inactive
I have many years of experience at deer & antelope hunting in several states east & west of the Mississippi but have never gone after elk. I am planning an elk hunt in Colorado where the shots could be 300 yards or so. I hope our more experienced elk hunters can help me make up my mind.
For whitetails I usually use a T/C Encore Pro Hunter in 35 Whelen or a model 70 7X57. For antelope or long range whitetail in a bean field or pipeline ROW, I typically use a model 70 with a 4-12X scope in 264 win mag.
I am comfortable with any of these rifles and they are very accurate with my reloads.
I also have the option of borrowing a 300 win mag which has been offered but I'm not real comfortable with other peoples rifles.
Given these choices, what would you do?

My uncle has used his 264 WM to take more elk than I can remember. I started reloading for him some years ago and we've tried standard cup and core Sierra and Hornady's, and as of late we tried some Barnes LRX's. All of them killed the elk just as dead as the other, but all were also good lung shots. The SD of a 140 grain 6.5mm is such that I believe the use of "premium" bullets somewhat of a waste of money.

If I were given your choices I would use the 264 and take the 7X57 as a backup rifle. I shot a 300 WM for years and killed my share of elk with it but the recoil finally started bothering me so I moved down to a 7WSM.

Nimrod2, My experience filling bull elk tag here in Co is mostly with 7mm and 30 cal rifles. I don't know any locals using 264 mag.

One of my odd rifles is 35 WhelenAI and I use 225gr AB for elk. I would use 7x57 with good 160gr or 175 gr bullet and back up be 35 Whelen.

When I lived in CO, I used a 7mm mag.

I hope you have been doing a lot of cardio/stadium stairs, etc. to get in shape. When you come from sea level to those mountains, you WILL notice.