Which 22 Ammo

AzShooter

I just started shooting Steel Challenge matches with my Ruger Mark IV 22/45. I've tried a number of brands of ammo but what do you people find to be the most reliable and accurate in your guns?

.22 Semi auto pistols are about the most finicky, picky, and sometimes cussworthy of guns, when it comes to what ammo they like best, fair, and not at all.

Target (match) ammo should be the most accurate, and you pay for that. Whether it is, or not, and whether it feeds reliably, or not is something you have to test in YOUR gun.

If you have something that is accurate enough, and runs in your gun well, use it. Anything promised to do better is just a promise unless you test it and see.

Some time back was shooting with a friend, had an 83 Ruger Mk I target, he had a S&W Model 41. His gun shot like a dream, you had to try to miss...

However, he was getting 2 or 3 misfires out of every mag. CCI Blazer.
That same box of ammo, including the rounds that misfired in his gun, ran my old Ruger like a sewing machine.

I always had good luck with the old Remington Golden Bullet, but having bought a large amount a long time ago, I haven't tried any current production, but I hear stories about how it has turned to crap, today.

CCI Mini Mags always worked in everything I shot them in.

Best thing I can tell you is sample as many different brands as you can. If you find one that is clearly superior in your pistol, buy a TRUCKLOAD of it! :D

I've tried a number of brands of ammo but what do you people find to be the most reliable and accurate in your guns?
What shoots well in one 22 won't necessarily shoot well in another.
That said, I've seen very few that wouldn't do well with Winchester Super X Hollowpoints and CCI Mini-Mags