Where to shoot a hog?

Old Stony

I've shot a lot of hogs, and read a lot of opinions about what to shoot them with and where to shoot them. For years now, I've made it a practice to shoot them directly through the front shoulder and had pretty good results using all kinds of calibers, but anymore I have been nailing them slightly in the front of the shoulder/neck area and it's sure been working good. Double Naught has mentioned disrupting the central nervous system, something along this line....and I have to say he knows what he is talking about.
Since I started shooting them in this area, I haven't had to track a single hog...they just dropped right there ( 6.5 Creedmore with 123 Gr. SST bullets). If you will look at the front area of the shoulder on this one I shot last night, you will notice a slight hole with a little blood seepage. The bullet did not exit, but must have done some good damage internally as it dropped immediately and barely moved. This was the 579th hog I've taken from this particular property.

A lot of my shots are 80 to 100 yds. in the dark, and I think under the ear might be asking a little much from my rig and abilities. I do use a digital night scope, but it's still a little limiting.

I shot them in the muscle of the neck, closer to the ear the better. As long as you hit something substantial and not shoot through the windpipe or something, they will go Down.
It's a fairly luxurious target area, no problem.

Depends on when I am shooting and circumstances.

Hogs are often not perfectly broadside so my shot placement varies depending on where I want the bullet to go in the body. I like "behind the ear" shots when the hog is quartered away and the bullet enters behind the ear and crashes through the back of the skull.

I like just below the ear or between the ear and eye on broad side shots when I feel steady. I like these shots when the hog is frozen, doing a security check, or when it is feeding, head down.