When to start competing?

dsd

Inactive
All,

I have recently started shooting again (after a decade+ away). I never really competed but I may like to.

Right now, I am just getting into form. Getting my gear squared away and working on my skills.

Question is, when should I start to think about entering competition (Probably bullseye or the like). I am 36, I don't want to embarrass myself but don't mind finishing a competent dead last.

Thoughts?

Thanks all!
dsd

Find out the minimum gear, acquire that, and show up. Do not wait. The perfect kit is not necessary to start.

They know you are new, be safe, be open to learn, you will be welcome.

Question is, when should I start to think about entering competition

Right NOW. The next match.

I don't want to embarrass myself but don't mind finishing a competent dead last.

You wont, pay attention to the safety briefing and you'll be fine. Call the guy putting on the match or see him just before the match starts and tell him you're new.

He and other "older" shooters will make sure you get started right and safe.
Don't buy a bunch of stuff until you find out what you need. Get guidance from the older shooters (not age but in experience).

People that shoot in matches want new shooters, that's the future of shooting sports. They are going to go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable and safe experience. THEY WANT YOU TO COME BACK and they want you to bring your friends.

Everyone goes to their "FIRST" Match.

Every time I go to a different type match or a new (to me) club three things happen.

I learn a lot
I have fun
I meet great people

I can pretty much guarantee the above three things are going to happen.

Don't wait, go now. As long as you are safe, you wont embarrass yourself.

Don't let perception keep you away from competitions. If you know how to handle your gun safely and have the very minimum of needed equipment you are ready to show up and start learning.