What's a unsafe trigger for hunting.

bungiex88

I inheareted a remington 700 6mm from my pap years ago. The rifle shoots .25 groups at 100 yards. I've been using for deer hunting for 8 years now. I've noticed the trigger is very light and finally measured it the other day and it breaks at just over an inch. Theareticaly is this considered an unsafe trigger for carrying around hunting. And I'm not looking for smart comments like it's as safe as the person carrying it. I'm talking about in general. Would this gun being such a light trigger could it go off with the saftey on if it gets bumped to hard.

I'd agree with 10-96.

The traditional way to rate a trigger is by how much weight (not length) it would take to set it off and like 10-96 says 3 or 4 pounds for hunting is certainly in the ball park.

You can measure it with just plain old weights or get fancy with a gauge.
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/192807/wheeler-engineering-trigger-pull-gage?cm_vc=ProductFinding

FWIW some target shooters (dedicated range rifles) go under an ounce which of course is too light for a field gun but there are triggers that can do it.

My Rem700 in 6mm Classic and my 7mm Mag in BDL version both have triggers set at 1.25 pounds of pull after I re-worked both.

Any lighter with factory triggers is not safe for most hunters, but I prefer light triggers due to the amount of target shooting I do.

My two 50BMG target rifles are set the same weight.

I've never seen trigger pulled measured in distance, so I can't speak on that. I generally wouldn't have the trigger pull below 1.5 lb. That doesn't mean it's unsafe below that, it's just my personal preference.

If your unsure about the trigger on your fathers rifle. My advice:
Replace it with a factory pre-set Timney. I've changed out 3-model 700s here with Timney triggers. Not because they needed new or repairing. THIS:> I wanted all of them factory preset to one pull weight. (3 lbs.)