What range to practice the most at with handgun?

What range to practice the most at with handgun?

• 3 yards

Votes: 2 1.9%
  • 7 yards

Votes: 43 40.6%
  • 10 yards

Votes: 29 27.4%
  • 15 yards

Votes: 16 15.1%
  • 20 yards

Votes: 3 2.8%
  • 25 yards

Votes: 13 12.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.

ATN082268

What range to practice the most at with handgun? I am a novice shooter and plan to use my handgun for self/ home defense. Thank you.

Multiple ranges. Seems like taking a poll on multitudes of issues are very popular now but few state the intention of the poll clearly and few publish the result and how it aids the average consumer. Pistols are very effective to great distances depending upon shooter ability. I doubt citizens will be contacted by bad guys at a given (7yd, 10 yd etc.) distance, more likely it will be nose to nose distance but how many of us practice putting a firearm into fighting position and firing at one yard? One foot? It actually is kind of scary and is a bit destructive to the target.

distance

I appreciate the previous post....and the fact that few people practice at the shorter ranges.
I do not. My general advice to a new shooter is to practice at 50 ft. or at 25 yards. The theory there is that if you can hit what you are aiming at at 25 yards, you can hit it at five or seven or one.
The real problem for a new shooter at 25 yards is that it is entirely possible to miss the target. When coaching a new shooter outdoors, I put a large sheet of white butcher paper on the backstop, the target goes onto that. Makes finding the misses easier.
Indoors...i keep the target close and move it out as accuracy improves.