What is "Range Target Practice" ammo? (Federal makes it)

lake393

Inactive
Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone knew about this ammo. Is it lower quality than their regular ammo?

Also, I'm trying to figure out if it's priced well... is it supposed to be cheaper than regular ammo or the same?

I have put a picture of the box below. Hopefully you can see it. Thank you.

nDonZu8.jpg

I have always regarded Federal American Eagle as the equivalent of Winchester USA and Remington UMC -- basic, range/plinking ammo.

Winchester USA at Wal-Mart this afternoon was priced at $42.95 for 100 rounds in .45 Auto. I didn't think to look at prices for 9mm or .40 S&W -- I spied 5 boxes of .22 RL and just about tripped over my own feet heading out to find the guy with the keys.

Lake393, I have no experience with the style of Federal ammo you are asking about, other than on the whole Federal makes good ammo. As my only range goal is to preserve or increase my self-defense abilities I only shoot duty ammo. Sure it cost a little more but I believe it is money well spent.

Perhaps you could buy a box or two and share your thoughts with the rest of us:)

The box you pictured is .40 S&W cartridges that have 180 grain bullets that have a full metal jacket (FMJ). As the box says you can use them on the range, for target practice or just plinking. You can also use them for self defense. The military uses FMJ bullets almost exclusively. The rounds you pictured certainly wouldn't do a bad guy any good if you hit them with one.

Now that said, there is ammunition that is DESIGNED for self defense that usually has hollow point bullets or some kind of expanding bullets that is GENERALLY considered BETTER for self defense than FMJ bullets. Because the bullets probably had more developmental work done on them and might be harder to manufacture they are generally more expensive than FMJ bullets and therefore you pay more for a box of those cartridges than the ammunition you pictured.