What handgun would work best for SD in RV

Marcusfan

Inactive
I'm trying to figure out what to get to take with me in my RV to use for self defense when I travel in my RV. I'm a female traveling with my mom and I want to make sure I am prepared but I don't have a lot of experience. My nephew is going to take me to the gun range so I can try out several different weapons and I will make it a priority to practice regularly but I have never used handguns before and any experience I did have with guns has been many years ago. So, any suggestions? Thanks.

Marcusfan

What handgun fits your hands and you can shoot effectively?
pax would recommend you find a range and rent some to try them for fit and function. Are you able to rack the slide to load a semi-auto pistol? Are you able to use a double action trigger on a revolver.
Since RVs are very thin skinned so to speak over penetration is a very important issue.
Visit corneredcat.com.

First and foremost, get genuine instruction on the use of handguns and the use of weapons for self defense.
Both the techniques and the laws.
Your life may depend on it as well as your freedom.
A weapon is no help without the skill to use it.
Any more than owning a tennis racket will make you a tennis player.

Do some reading at corneredcat.com. That is the website of our pal Pax. It is an excellent resource for any new shooter, and particularly tailored for women.

Your nephew can get you started, and you might find something you really like. What is important is to find a handgun that YOU are comfortable with and that has the features that you want and need. There are pluses and minuses to nearly every feature available in handguns. A heavier handgun, for example, is more to lug around, but absorbs recoil when shooting. A thumb safety is an extra step to shooting, whether your shooting is intentional or unintentional. Think them over and talk them over with someone knowledgeable before making your purchase.