What Caliber should I Choose for Iowa and California Hunting

Yowakawaka

Inactive
Hi everyone,

First time posting to this site. From past experiences, Ive learned to ask the people who are getting their hands dirty (you guys on forums/in the fields). Im also new to guns and hunting so don't know a whole bunch about them except for the research I've been doing lately, so bare with me. Also, I don't know about advantages/disadvantages of different types of ammo.

Im originally from California and moved to Iowa for school. Iowa just opened hunting with a rifle if you use a straight wall cartridge. Ive already taken all steps to hunt so now I need to get a gun. Ive been looking into a lever action (Marlin/Henry). Specifically the 45-70.

My question is, what other round would you suggest other than 45-70 and why? Remember, I want to be able to use the rifle in Iowa and California for deer and eventually Elk.

Here is a list of rounds that can be shot in Iowa from a rifle to hunt.
357 magnum
357 maximum
357 winchester
38 super
40 S&W
401 powermac
10 mm auto
41 Remington magnum
41 action express
44 S&W special
44 Remington magnum
44 automagically
444marlin
445 super mag
45 ACP
45Colt
45 Winchester Magnum
45 Silhouette
450 Bushmaster
451 Detonics
454 Casull
45-70 Gov
460 Rowland
460 S&W
480 Ruger
50 action express

Here is a link for ammo (by manufacturer) to hunt in California
https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Hunting/Nonlead-Ammunition/Certified

Again, I am wondering if there is a better round that I should be considering besides the 45-70.

Thanks in advance gunmen,
Yowakawaka

The only other rifle round on the list is 444 Marlin. You might want to consider that, but it's hard to go wrong with the old 45-70. Ohio has a more extensive list, including 38-55, which I carry here.

many of those are also available in rifle like the 357 and 357 max; but I think the 45-70 would be the best for all around use for your wants.

Definitely the Herter's .401 PowerMag.