What are the best hand guns to learn marksmanship

McCarthy

Well I think I got the need for more odd ball calibers out of my system and now its time to focus on marksmanship.

I started shooting untrained about 5 years ago, bought a G29, S&W 500 ES, NAA .22 Magnum and a GP100 .327 Federal Magnum is on its way. I also started reloading a couple weeks ago and shot my first self rolled rounds today.

Before I headed out today I replaced the Glock stock barrel with a LoneWolf. When I was done testing my rounds I tried really hard to archive some good results. I was surprise that I could get a couple decent groups together. Maybe the LoneWolf barrel helped. But I also realized that I flinch and blink every first round of a magazine, sometimes even more.

The 10mm rounds had been pretty hot. The brass bouncing of the wall right into my face didn't help.

I really like reloading so far but now its time to learn how to shot really well.

What hand gun do you guys suggest to get me started with? Will the .327 work? Any good marksmanship books or DVDs out there?

Many, many, MANY different options and most of them are not bad options... some of them may be better than others. Since I happen to be here first, I'll simply go with -ONE- option that I like a whole heckuva lot:

.22cal semi-auto pistol
And for this task, not a toy/plinker type (thus, not a GSG/Sig 1911 or Mosquito, no Ruger SR-22 or Walther P-22 or M&P-22)

Instead, something with a fixed barrel and a short-pull single action only trigger.

Think: Ruger Mark I/II/III, Browning Buck Mark, Colt Woodsman or variant, High Standard, or any of many, many other players.

The fixed barrel just -OOZES- accuracy and repeatability that most larger caliber guns wish they could produce. But perhaps more important than any other factor is that you can shoot far more ammo, getting yourself much more trigger time... for less money.