Weird Marlin action issue?

StaTiK

Inactive
Hello,

I've been looking at Marlin 336s for a while now and may have found a used one I like but there is something that doesn't look right to me. The picture below shows what I'm referring to. I'm not a gunsmith, but to me it looks like a piece of sheet metal is peeling back inside the action.

Unfortunately this would not be a FTF transfer so I wouldn't get to physically inspect before purchase. Is this normal?

marlinchamber.jpg

-StaTiK-

I am no expert sta Tik but I do own a 1982 model 336 and the action interior (including chamber throat) are all solid and blued like the exterior. There is no type of wear and tear as seen in your photograph. Mine is newer to me but has a life time of hunting behind it. Being that you can't inspect before purchase I would be very hesitant to purchase this one. I absolutely love my little marlin though and wish you the best of luck with any you purchase.

You'd think if that piece wasn't supposed to be there, you'd have trouble getting the bolt to move past that point.

Strictly guessing here (I don't know how to follow the thread without posting something) but could it be built that way as something to keep the cartridge from coming off the lifting tray?

I'm looking forward to hearing from someone who knows what the photo shows.

I've looked inside a lot of Marlin actions, and I've never seen anything like that. Wondering if it might be a piece of trash? Something metallic that shouldn't be there? Either way, it's odd.

That looks like a Bubba "feed mod" to me. And, being a .30-30, there shouldn't have been the need for such a thing, in the first place.
Plus... it looks like it has been brazed or welded in place.

I wouldn't touch that thing, unless I was using it as a target.

Thank you all for your responses. I've never had a lever action but I've owned/used a lot of firearms and have never seen anything like this so I had to ask.