vintage charter arms under cover

bspillman

I just came into a charter arms revolver, undercover model. from what i could learn from the internet it was made from 1977 through 1980, it seems to be built like a brick s@#t house, but i have no experience with charter arms. can anyone tell me if its any good. the serial number is #348163 and the barrel reads stratford Conn.

I bought my (now) ex-wife one during that time period, they are much better than the new ones IMO. Never had a problem with it, I often carried it as a BUG to my 1911. As long as it's not worn slam out, you got one of the good ones.

bspillman,
My current data base indicates that your UNDERCOVER was most likely made in mid to late 1974 - from the serial number - probably closer to the end of the year.
Test the lock-up - I think you be pleasantly surprised how solid these pieces are.
Make sure it's empty - pull trigger full stroke dropping hammer, hold trigger back and take a good grip on the cylinder - try for side-to-side wobble and fore and aft shake - anything? 8 groove rifling and unbreakable beryllium-copper alloy firing pin, shortest hammer throw and fewest moving parts of all the snubbies made during that time period. IMHO (having owned/owning over 20 various pieces) solid, well made and reliable guns.

I did the check out that i found on this forum good info. It locks up tight and the trigger is like butter. It feels like its built like a tank. I traded a sigma semi auto that i did not like for it. I have always like revolvers better than semi autos. I think i am going to get it refinished.

Solid gun from my experience. Have one in great shape I bought for $79.95 in my first year of law school - which was about all I could afford at the time. Have another my brother gave me that is about the same vintage with Pachmayrs. Like the originals better.

"$79.95"? That was a heck of a deal. Don't use any kind of +P high velocity ammo in it and it will last a long time.