Time Frame on Primers

akinswi

Was wondering when everyone thinks primers will be readily available again. Im talking mainly about CCI and Federal.

Dont get me started on prices…I was just wondering on availability. I work in the furniture industry and the goods are starting to flow again and lead times on orders are almost back to normal.

I noticed that this isn’t the case with primers.

Thoughts

I received an email from Brownells that primers are available. The price ranges from $96 to $109 per 1000 if my memory serves me correctly, but I don't know if that includes Hazmat fees.

The places with the most primers in stock are the ones with the least reasonable prices, like Bruno Shooter's Supply and Brownells. Places with high, but not such insane prices, have little or no stock, like Powder Valley and Midsouth Shooter's Supply.

At this point it is not material supply lines but the unprecedented demand for loaded ammunition that is still keeping primers scarce and expensive. New ammo facilities that don't make primers have opened to scarf up a lot of what would otherwise have started making it to market by now. There is at least one new domestic primer making facility in the works by Expansion Industries, IIRC, but I don't know when it is due to have product on the market.

The places with the most primers in stock are the ones with the least reasonable prices, like Bruno Shooter's Supply and Brownells. Places with high, but not such insane prices, have little or no stock, like Powder Valley and Midsouth Shooter's Supply.