The Welfare State Mentality....

Jets2007

This is more of a rant than anything else... but here it goes. I am in my mid-twenties and I work in the health care field. Most of the people that I deal with on a daily basis are over 60 years old. Almost all of them are very sick. Some are friendly, others are not.

95% of the folks that I come into contact with while working are victims of this massive and growing 'welfare state mentality'. A majority of the people that I deal with feel that they are 'entitled' to endless freebies from the government. Mostly, I blame this on the Federal and State governments. The bureaucrats that we elect are the ones that created this massive welfare state mentality. Secondly, I blame ourselves, the people, for allowing these social entitlement programs to grow so large. No matter what party has the majority, new 'entitlement' programs keep popping up... example, medicare Part D under George W and the Republicans. The Fed's are not serious about fixing this problem. They thrive on the fact that so many people are dependant on their social programs.

Recently, the business had a flu shot day open to the public. Over 200 people showed up. I would say 90% of them used either medicare or medicaid. I believe that the shot costed somewhere about $20 if they paid for it with cash. Most of these people flashed their government issued health insurance cards with pride. I don't think governemnt dependancy is anything to be proud of. Obviosly, many do. I don't understand it. People are so petty. They want to put items that cost $5 or $10 on their government issued insurance cards.