Swiss K31 vs. 1911

@Rampant - the Swiss 1911 is a rifle. Thanks for stating the obvious re Google. I'm looking for someone with some experience because I'm considering buying one.

I had read that link in my searches... I own the K31... but I'm curious about the 1911s. I did some research and the K31 seems to have many improvements. The 1911 has the advantage of being much more rare and an earlier design...

The Swiss 1911 is reputed to have less strength than the K 31. Either will manage Swiss service ammo, but for the 1911, its the top end of its safety level.

There are minor differences and I don't have the right book handy to detail them, sorry. I have some shooting experience with the K 31, and swiss ammo, which is match grade perfromance, although that stuff is scarce today. Very accurate. Relatively mild recoil for the class of cartridge, as the rifle is not light. Felt a bit odd to work the straight pull, and it ejects out the "wrong" side!

Trigger pull was good for a military rifle of the period, and the stock fir me well enough, although I found the wrist too thick for real comfort.

Get both.

a6dfd34e.jpg

Both are accurate.

...:D...

The K.31 has a stronger and more compact action, with the locking lugs at the front of the bolt rather than at mid-point, and is a handier rifle than the longer Model 1911. AFAIK, the Swiss ammo on the market is the 1911 type, so it is OK in both rifles (but not in the Model 1889).

Either rifle is OK, but I consider the Model 1911 to be more in the collector category.

Jim

They made about 187k 1911 carbines and about 580k K-31's, that alone makes the 1911 carbine more collectible.

The K-31 has an improved, simplified action over the 1911 carbine, both shoot pretty good. K-31 for the shooter and 1911 carbine for the collector. Both comes to mind.

Are you referring to the G11 ( the long rifle ), or the K11 ( the carbine version) ?