Supreme Court Ruling on Heller & the 1986 Prohibition

Anthony

Hello Everyone,

After reading Justice Scalia's opinion earlier today I was left wondering how the ruling would effect the 1986 prohibition of the manufacture of new full auto weaponry for civilian consumption. In his opinion, Justice Scalia discusses the types of weapons covered by the second amendment and goes so far as to use the M-16 as an example. Now I am not a lawyer, but I was quite moved by it. Shortly thereafter I read the below article on the Fox News Channel's website pointing out that:

"The issue caused a split within the Bush administration. Vice President Dick Cheney supported the appeals court ruling, but others in the administration feared it could lead to the undoing of other gun regulations, including a federal law restricting sales of machine guns."

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,372041,00.html

Thoughts?

Any legal minds on the board?

I wish - but I believe that Scalia affirmed that 'reasonable restrictions' were still allowed.

I would love to have it otherwise, but I dont foresee it happening. And no one is going to fight for it either. NRA is great, but they have no dog in the full auto fight. I'm afraid that one may be lost to us forever.

I think the NFA rules and regs for owning a full-auto could be considered reasonable restriction.

I wish - but I believe that Scalia affirmed that 'reasonable restrictions' were still allowed.
He also inserted weasel phraseology regarding 'dangerous' and 'unusual' arms. On the one hand you can argue there's nothing 'unusual' about an M-16. Probably half the folks on this board had to learn to shoot them when we were in the service. But on the other hand a sharp stick is pretty 'dangerous'. I remember when my sister was three she was running with a sharp stick and tripped, jamming it into her throat. She would have died if my father hadn't had good first aid training. :eek: