Suppressor for my AK.

V4Vendetta

I have a SAR-1. Can I put a silencer on it? If yes, what's a good brand? How much would a suppressor cost in addition to the $200 tax? I'm new to NFA stuff.

EDIT: I think I should mention that my AK is NOT a select fire version.

My guess is, your AK is a 7,62X39??
In this case you can use any .30 suppressor.
I prefer Gemtech and you are looking about $695.00 and $200 for a Quick Detach.

Hey, at least he didn't call a magazine a "clip"
Thank god. For some reason, that really chaps my a$$. Sorta like referring to a deers' antlers as 'horns'. Horns are permanent, antlers are shed. Clips feed magazines, magazines feed guns.

And my personal view is that silencers and suppressors are different animals. Just my .02.

And now back to our regularly scheduled program...

Hiram Maxim made silencers.:D

Anyhow, you'll need a 30 cal suppressor/silencer if you're running 7.62x39, a 5.56 model if you're running a 223 or 5.45. You can have the barrel threaded, and use a screw on can, or have a quick detach flash suppressor mounted. Prices will vary, for $500 up.

We just had this conversation over on AR15.com a few days back. The general consensus was that they are interchangeable.

So what your saying is that the majority of people on that forum agree to use incorrect terms? I trust the people here on this forum would be smart enough to learn the correct term and use it. Just because people agree on something that is wrong does not make it correct.

I wouldn't listen to what gets said over at that site if I were you. IMO they are nothing but children who are playing on their daddy's computers.

Yes you can, HOWEVER sec 922r applies as ATF considers a SOUND suppressor to also act as a FLASH suppressor... so the 10 parts rule applies...

if they aren't interchangeable, why does form 4 say silencer on it?
;)

I believe the proverbial nail has been hit on the head with this one...