Supporting local gun shops...

Carmike

Hello all,

I've been shooting guns (and adding a few to my stable) for about two years now, so I'm no expert. I live in a town of about 100,000 with some box stores and a few smaller gun shops.

When I'm looking for a new gun, or for ammo or anything else gun related, I'd like to support the LGS instead of either an online entity or the big box stores. But the price differential is so great that I find myself always looking online. I want to buy a 357 lever gun. And a revolver in the same caliber. Maybe a 9mm Kel-tec carbine or a 223 or 243 bolt action. I'm not so experienced that I'm comfortable buying used, especially when the difference between new and used isn't that great.

In all honesty, why should I consider the LGS? I don't mean this to be a stupid question...What am I getting buying a Henry in the store for 25% more than the online cost (plus the extra sales tax) that I don't get from the online version? Or the same markup on a S&W revolver? Or any other gun? I was looking for a turkey load for the spring hunt coming up, and I stopped at the LGS...it was $20 for a box that was $13 at the big box store literally three blocks away? That's only $7, but it's, what, 40% more? The markup on guns isn't quite that big, but it's significant. For an expensive gun, I can buy a nice one and essentially get a cheaper one for free.

First, I would like to point out that your local gun shop is necessary in order for you to enjoy that rifle or handgun you want to order from the online distributor. You can't get it without a local gun shop!

Next, if you count the cost of the gun, shipping and transfer fees, you could probably get it cheaper from your local gun shop's inventory anyway.

Wishing for cheaper and cheaper consumer goods is what has this country (and many other countries) teetering on the edge of financial disaster while the Chinese are prospering. If you don't understand how economies work, you should find out.