STUCK BOLT on m44!

zombieslayer

Had a buddy give me his M44 because he was constantly frustrated with it. It's in decent shape, aesthetically. But the bolt was ALWAYS really sticky, no matter what he did to clean it, lube it, etc. Finally, at the range a week ago, the bolt seized with a fired cartridge in the chamber. I've got it down to the barelled action, and in a vise, and the bolt does not want to open fully. It rotates about 3/4 of the way and then it just wont budge any further. Im no Mosin expert. I own a Finn M39, but have never done anthing to it other than routine cleaning. Any suggestions?? Im new to milsurps and Mosins. The 44 has a fairly worn out bore, but if I can get it functioning, I'd like to keep it for a beater to keep behind the seat of my truck. THANKS!

What have you done to try and unstick the bolt? Hand force only? I've seen some guys unstick them with whacks from a 2x4. Once you get it open, you'll have to find out what's going on. What ammo was being shot? You might find that the case ruptured, or is even still stuck in the chamber and the extractor ripped a chunk of the rim off when forced out.

If there are signs of overpressure, I would check the headspace at least. If the gun has any residual cosmoline in it, it will need a through cleaning.

Yup, tried the 2x4 first, then a hammer, then i gave up and started this thread. I even soaked the entire action and barrel with PB Blast. I'm lost... I worked in a steel shop, so muscle isn't the issue.

The ammo was some kinda silver tip surplus that was in light aqua blue boxes (my friend gave me the remainder). I only shoot good ammo thru my M39