start with what?

breakthrough

I am new to guns. Well, only just took a beginner class but besides safety he taught little else I would like to know where to start. what caliber gun of excellent quality to buy, how to maintain them , what quality cleaning and other supplies to buy. Thanks for the input.:confused:

right now for home defense and practice shooting at range later may be for concealed carry- do I need 2 separate guns for each purpose?
please suggest guns that will be easiest to shoot, maintain.

Welcome to the Forum.
1- What is your budget?
2-Have you gone to a local gun store and looked around?
3- is it for self defense or what?
4- Do you want a Semi-Auto or a Wheel?

Answer these questions then you'll get more questions for you to answer.
Doc

Sorry just saw your last post.
Self defense. Great you can use what you get for both.

For me the easiest to shoot and maintain is a Ruger GP 100 357.
This allows me to shoot any 38, 38 spec., 38 spec. +P and 357 ammo.
You're looking at $ 570 to $650 new.
There are other made revolvers that are in the $300 to $500 range new.

If you are on a budget that's a different story.
Doc

isnt capacity of revolver limited?
can you tell me how to clean and maintain this revolver? from where do I purchase the ammo from for this?
what other excellent revolvers are in that 300-500 price range?
I can spend up to $1000 if I need 2 guns.

Revolver can be 5 shot, 6 shot, or 7 shot. Ammo you can buy on line or from walmart,local gun store or Academy of sports.
Cleaning is easy. Get a cleaning kit for the model and/or size of your new gun. It comes with everything you need to clean it and comes with pictures and written instructions.
Doc

That budget you get the best you can buy. Quality always counts.
Now you're in Smith and Wesson or Ruger territory.
I'll let the pros go from here. IMHO, one gun is all you need to start.
Doc