Star m43 9mm opinions. Reviews if you have one.

bspillman

Looking at buying one for 300 bucks. but I have no experience with star guns. If you can give some insite I'd appreciate some. Thanks.

Star m43 9mm opinions.

Got on in trade 3 or 4 years ago.

Heavy little sucker. The size of a Kel Tec PF9, twice the weight. Magazines are pricey. (.40 Firestar magazines are identically dimensioned, and work fine for 9mm. Just a hint.)

The magazine disconnect works by having a bit of metal pressing into the side of the magazine. This makes the magazine not drop free.

Controls are large, well proportioned and easy to reach and manipulate.

I've had a hard time warming up to it. Partly, I think it's because I am not as accurate with it as I'd like to be.

It is well made.

I have had one since they came out some twenty years ago. Back then they were probably about the smallest 9mm available. Mine is the Starvel (nickel) finish and it has proven to be fairly durable. Compared to the polymer guns of today the all steel construction is very heavy. Mine has proven to be accurate which I suppose is due to the weight and the nice single action trigger.

They have probably been out of production for close to twenty years now and parts might be problematic. I managed to find a couple spare magazines on eBay about 8 years ago. If you need any parts beyond magazines, you might be hard pressed to find them. Gun Parts Corp. might have other parts but I have not checked myself.

Personally, I would not sell mine for $300 but if I were buying one now, $300 is probably more than I would want to spend on one. For not much more than $300 you can get into a brand new 9mm from a manufacturer who is still in business and able to offer warranty repairs.