Squirrel gumbo

A woman I work with makes a mean gumbo. I mentioned it might be good with squirrel and she seemed mildly interested. Usually uses five pounds chicken.
I've never used squirrel in a real recipe before. I have no idea the weight of a squirrel meat. I would guess half a pound for a big Ohio squirrel. Maybe a pound dressed.
That would lead me to believe I would need 10+ squirrels, or at least two hunter or two+days given daily bag limit.

Not a problem, just add in as much squirrel as you have and subtract the same amount of chicken so you have a chicken and squirrel gumbo. I usually use 2 pounds of chicken, 1 pound of sausage and 1 pound of shrimp. There are as many combinations of gumbo as there are cooks.

Bag limit? WE used to shoot them out of uncles pecan trees anytime we saw them and nothing was said. I think farmers may be exempt in Mississippi. Like farmers in Montana with a depredation permit for deer.

My aunt and uncle would eat them. his kids and myself just didn't like them. They smelled funny while cooking. I remember my aunt making them with gravy over rice.

John, it all depends on how big of a batch or pot you are cooking. 10 squirrels along with a Lil sausage and chicken makes a pretty good pot. Putting gumbo over tater salad instead of rice is getting more and more popular. I always serve both. Most people eat a bowl of each. 979tx is a chef so if he sees this thread I'm sure he can give you more precise info.

Depends on where you live. Some of those southern states have fox squirrels the size of rabbits. I almost always made a meat pie.

This is how Brunswick Stew was invented. Not enough of one particular kind of meat add what you have to until you the get the right amount of meat. Brunswick Stew is squirrel, Rabbit and bird (traditionally Quail or Dove but chicken will do). Most times it is best to precook the Squirrel to tenderize it. Use the liquid to get the Squirrel fat and goodies in to the Stew Pot.