Speed loaders for S&W 442

OhioGuy

The 442 I bought used came with three HKS 36 speed loaders. They definitely don't fit well alongside the frame and stock grips. Seems I have to get the rounds maybe halfway into the cylinder and the twist the knob to let gravity do the rest. But I'm new to this.

What's the better way? A different brand of loader? Different grips? I'm not worrying about speed strips at this point, just wanting to get better with a loader.

I've seen good reviews for the Speed Beez brand but those are pretty expensive and look to be very tall?

Speed loaders for S&W 442

The 442 I bought used came with three HKS 36 speed loaders. They definitely don't fit well alongside the frame and stock grips. Seems I have to get the rounds maybe halfway into the cylinder and the twist the knob to let gravity do the rest. But I'm new to this.

What's the better way? A different brand of loader? Different grips? I'm not worrying about speed strips at this point, just wanting to get better with a loader.

I've seen good reviews for the Speed Beez brand but those are pretty expensive and look to be very tall?

Speed Beez is for competition.

Safari land makes some that automatically drop in.

One of the pitfalls of a speedloader is navigating around a grip and cylinder latch. If you have rubber aftermarket grips, that creates another issue. If your wood grips are wide it’s another problem.

Bianchi makes speed strips. You load two at a time. Set it up so you have a skipped slot between each pair of rounds.

I carry a revolver, but I carry other guns as backup. I call it the Carolina Reload (2 gun backup)

I practiced Saturday. It was overcast, rainy, windy and 39 degrees but I was the only one there at the club... No surprise.

e32d029fa7d0f23f855debaf1ac27683.jpg

15 yards
1521a3cf2f5b77d437ba4a16bbc1f264.jpg

10 yards
b0d1e41e6aae03869f0fa04ebd80ba33.jpg

7 yards

My carry
4553d495f2546a29b49ea7966834abf5.plist