Someone settle the 9mm vs. .40 debate...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ankeny

Good grief, why can’t physics, experience and common sense solve the 9mm vs. the .40 Smith debate? A couple of years ago I started shooting 9mm pistols because the ammo is cheap and quality rounds like the 115 gr. CorBon supposedly offer stopping power as good as any and better than most. Around here, people laugh at me when I speak of how great the 9mm shoots.

Well now I am shooting a G35 and G27 (.40 Glocks) and I am finally considered sane. Heck, our newest Glock dealer won’t even stock a new Glock in 9mm. I counted his Glocks the other day and he has every Model except the new 36 and all of the nines. Claims he can’t sell a nine to anyone but old ladies and wimps.

Every law enforcement agency in this county has abandoned the 9mm. All but one has gone to the .40 S&W. The Game and Fish and State Troopers switched from 9mm to .40 S&W too. I asked a Game and Fish guy if he thought the .40 was better and he is sure it is superior. Not many bandits get shot here, but the Troopers and Game Wardens shoot many crippled dear and antelope that get hit by motorists. Their collective experience in killing injured game animals is that the .40 is vastly superior. Of course people aren’t deer but isn’t tissue damage the same regardless of species?

Please can someone show some statistical data comparing the two? Or is it really as simple as bigger is better?

There have been many articles written by experts on this subject. I will throw my two cents in. Basically, the caliber cannot compensate for "poor shot placement" and "lack of proper training". Ballistically, the 9mm seems to be a bit weaker except in the LE +P+ loadings. Many agencies are hoping to adopt the FBI "magic bullet" but only qualifies their officers twice a year. I believe the 9mm is taking a bad rap for lack of proper firearms training. Let's not forget most of the SWAT uses MP5 chambers for 9mm.