smokeless in blackpowder gun?

george tarleton

i am new to blackpowder cartridge reloading, though i do reload modern cartridges. i have a orginal winchester 1876 in 45-60. is it possible, safe, prudent (pick one) to reload 45-60 with smokeless powder if the chamber pressures do not exceed that of a blackpowder load. seems there would be a lot less mess and hassle with smokeless, i.e. lubes, black powder fouling up the works and such. i ran across a thread (which i can not find again) where some say no and others (who have done it) say ok IF the chamber pressures are the same for black powder loads.
i would really appreciate some opinions based on experience.
thanks- george

A. How would you test the pressures?

B. NO!!!!!!!!!!

But granted, that's not based on experience, so I may be wrong. But everything you ever read warns against it. I suppose though if you can somehow measure the pressure in YOUR gun, AND know that the pressures would be consistent, then.... But again, how would you go about measuring it and testing it? Just because X1 amount of X2 powder produces Y amount of pressure in Z smokeless cartridge chambering does NOT necessarily mean that X1 amount of X2 powder will produce that same pressure in a different muzzleloading chamber.

Don't even think about it. Odds of wrecking the gun and probably part of your face are just too great. You can, however, load the cartridge with real black powder. Use a drop tube and load it so the charge is compressed about 1/16" by the bullet. Never, ever underload and leave an airspace. Corn starch makes a good filler if you need to load less than a full charge. "The Complete Blackpowder Handbook" by Sam Fadala has a whole chapter on loading for black powder. So does "The Reloading Handbook" by Richard Lee.

I knew a couple of ancient brothers who had VERY CAREFULLY added a tiny bit of smokeless to their Black powder loads and it was working for them...