Single shot rifle

wicat3

Hey everyone. Hunting season is over for me for this season. I am looking at getting a new rifle. I was sitting in my blind the other day and I was thinking about getting a new rifle for next season and I was thinking a single shot would be great as I don't plan on shooting more then once unless I'm shooting multiple deer in the day which ussally is not the case. I've never used a single shot so I'm new to them. I would like to get something reliable, can have a scope mounted to it with ease, and it would be great to have it in .270 as that is a caliber that I hunt with now but I am open to a 243 round as well.

I have always been an aficionado of the quality single shot rifle. Ruger #1's, Browning High and Low walls. The most accurate rifle I have ever owned was a Browning B-78 in 6MM Remington. The most beautiful rifle I have ever owned was a Browning B-78 in 45-70. My current favorite is my Browning Low Wall (I cannot remember the model number), in 22 Hornet which I keep next to the window in my gun room with which to shoot varmints out of my window.

This spring Henry is bringing some nice looking break action single shots to the market. I suspect they will be priced under $400. With a little patience you can get a Ruger Number One in 280 for close to $800. For $250 you can get a CVA break action in 243. I have one in 44 magnum and it gets the job done.

Ruger #1 is a luxury rifle that can be had for a reasonable price. Many of them shipped from the factory with exceptionally nice wood. Caliber offerings, however, are limited from year to year. Check out Classicsportingarms.com, they usually have several #1s to drool over.

TC ENCORE was my choice have fell in love with it have 45cal muszzleloader,270calPistol, 243,30/06,300winmag,Rifel barrels. :)