Sig P229 shooting low

Mikef262

Hey guys,

I have a Sig Sauer P229 in 40 S&W, that was gifted to me by my now deceased grandmother when I graduated the academy. I recently swapped the barrel out for a 357 Sig barrel to test the waters in that caliber, which I ended up really liking.

Fast forward a month, I decided I wanted another for off duty carry and I didn't want to risk losing the Sig I had with sentimental value. So I won a used Sig P229 in 40 S&W on gunbroker and just received it yesterday and just now got back from the range today with disappointing results. My new (new to me) Sig 229 is shooting low, not left or right, just low. Holding dead center produced rounds low but still in the circle at 15 yards, obviously as I sent the target out further the impact became lower and lower on paper. This was not an issue when shooting the 357 Sig out of my other 229, I even made sure to buy the same set of Hogue grips for this new one.

What is the solution to this? I have never had an issue with shooting low with my department gun, nor any others. Admittedly, I did have a low left issue with a friends double action Beretta, which was corrected and a trigger squeeze issue. I tried a number of different corrections they taught at the academy, all with the same results of low impacting rounds. Any help would be appreciated.

Sig sites are factory set to cover the target. If you use the dot the 'I' method you will shoot low. Change how you sight and all should be fine.

Sig sites are factory set to cover the target. If you use the dot the 'I' method you will shoot low. Change how you sight and all should be fine.

He already has a SIG he’s used to using, and the hold he uses for that results in POA=POI. It’s just this new pistol that’s problematic.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If you tell us how many inches it’s shooting low at exactly what target distance, we can tell you how much lower your front sight must be to shoot to your liking with that ammo.