Shoot to kill? Your opinions on self defense...

Status
Not open for further replies.

DPSproles

OK--I am new to the self defense arena with regerds to handguns. I have been a "lurker" for months and about to purchase my first handgun in a LONG time, and this is not really about the gun, caliber, etc..it is a deeper issue than that. I am wanting your opinions on the concept of "shooting to kill" with regards to self defense.

ASSUMING: you are legally carrying a CCW and that the BG is showing a viable threat to your life...do you:

A. Shoot to disable and run?
B. Shoot to kill the SOB?
C. Draw your weapon and inform him of your intent?
D. Shoot and figure it our later?
E. Other?

NOW, I do NOT think the right answer is "C" or really "D", but the other options are the ones that I struggle with. IF I have a BG that is confronting me with a deadly weapon and I feel that the lives of myself and family are in danger what do I do? SO, do I shoot him and drop him and hold him under gun point until the cops arrive or do I shoot center of mass until he stops moving and wait until the coroner shows up?

I am a Christian and have conflicting feelings about this. Do I struggle with defending my family or myself? NOT AT ALL! Do I struggle with killing the guy that is intending harm to my wife, son and daughter...NOT AT ALL? DO I struggle with killing him if I can stop him instead of killing him? KINDA'