Shock/energy/knockdown

Boogershooter

Back in (colludge) I studied this in physics class. My professor was a hunter too so we both did some research. There are several Dr's and universities that did extensive tests with pigs. They did this by shooting dead pigs n the ham/hind quarters with pistols. They put pressure sensors in the lungs, heart, brain, and spine. They found that at just 500 lbs of transfered energy would disrupts a pigs functions. Bust blood vessels n the lungs. Separate the spine just a bit. Cause enough disruption in the brain to stun the pigs. They found at 800 lbs of transferable energy the shock wave thru the fluids and tissue would b fatal. Actually breaking the spine, collapsing the lungs, and causing the heart to stop. Now remember this is measured from a shot to the ham. Image if the bullet impact was in the shoulder which is closer to the brain, lungs, and heart. If this study was true then surely any modern rifle with a bullet transferring that much energy to a animal should be fatal almost everytime. But we all know this isn't the case. I'm interested in hearing some others points of views or if anybody else has studied this please share what you know.