Sell Kimber, buy Springfield Compact?

Daddycat

Here's the situation. In the last year I've owned four Kimbers. I've had problems with three of them. Currently I carry a Ultra Elite. A few weeks ago the extractor broke.
George at the custom shop sent me a new one and I installed it. The first day on the range the pistol had four failures to extract
out of 150 rounds, 2nd day ran fine for 50 rounds, third day four failures to extract out of 100 rounds. While I'm sure George would take another crack at fixing the pistol
I'm a little tired of sending pistols back and forth. I'm thinking of selling the Ultra Elite and buying a Springfield Compact.
I would be interested in any feedback anyone would care to offer, particularly on the reliability and accuratcy of the Springfield
Compact. This is my first time on the Firing line and I'm looking forward to learning from the rest of you!

------------------

Check out this thread on TFL: [Link to invalid post]
Also, use the search engine on the words "springfield compact" to peruse previous postings. A number of shooters have had problems with reliablility with the Champion. I have owned 3 full size Springfields and they were always reliable. Can't speak for their smaller guns. I have a Colt CCO that is extremely reliable (commander length barrel and aluminum frame). It is my favorite "light" M1911. It is also simple to field strip without any tools.

Well, I for one haven't had one problem with my Champion...in fact, I've never heard of a problem either...however, before I bought it I asked Springfield if there were any probs, they said to watch the ogive on bullets and you'll be alright...well, I'm carrying Speer Gold Dots and I don't know of a more open hp thtan that, and I have no probs...the darn thing runs great. My wife has a Ultra Compact, and it runs great too...as long as you let the slide "fly" forward loading first round...it needs to slam...no functional probs though.

How about these "two" choices instead?