Selecting a general purpose .308 round.

Hoss Delgado

The rifle in question is a good old Remington 700. It's not likely to ever shoot at anything bigger than a whitetail, which is mostly what we have around here. I am a relative beginner to rifles, being mostly a shotgun man.

I'm quite aware that the answer to "What's the best ammo?" is always "It depends." But let's talk in some generalities. I'm trying to find something with good expansion, reasonable accuracy, and not massive cost. I'm not looking to kill elephants, it doesn't have to be an ultra high end round, just a good round. There are a few I've been looking at and I'm open to suggestions.

The first was Federal Gold Medal. I'm a little iffy on this now. While the accuracy is consistently rated as second to none, the expansion appears sketchy. Sierra themselves say that the MatchKing bullet isn't appopriate for hunting, though oddly, I hear it's a very popular police sniper round. Out of morbid curiosity more than anything, is it considered effective against human targets compared with hunting rounds?

The next is Federal Vital-Shok. The GameKing bullet has better expansion, though I understand the penetration is not as good as some other hunting rounds. It's also a bit more expensive. It is, however, a similar design to the MatchKing, and is supposed to be highly accurate.

The third is Remington Core-Lokt. All reports on killing power are that it's top notch. Surprisingly though, I've hardly found any data on accuracy one way or the other. Does anyone have any comment on this? Also, the weight choices are 150 or 180 grain. There doesn't seem to be a middle ground. Thoughts on this?

What say the experts? Anything else good that I've missed?

I'd look for a round using the Nosler ballistic tip. It performs awesome on PA. Whitetail.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

In years gone by, I had good results with Federal hunting rounds.

You don't need a nossler or anything exotic for white tail.