Scratch a .223 "itch"

PolarFBear

Gents, I have perused this forum over many dozen posts. Still can't zero in on an answer. My goal: a .223 bolt action, fixed sights (I will add glass later or as needed), AR magazine fed rifle for "plinking", target shooting and maybe, but a long maybe, taking out some very occasional varmint. I am not a hunter. The Ruger Scout model almost fills the bill, and it feels "right". But, I am put off by the Ruger proprietary magazine at $80 a pop (and the Ruger is not so cheap either!) I suppose I could accept an inexpensive used rifle with all the specs except the detachable mag. I am mostly a hand gunner so please keep the abbreviations and "rifle-speak" to a minimum; I'm still learning. I do have a .223 Colt HBAR and Ruger Mini-14 in the safe and want to keep the ammo the same.

You could get the Mossberg MVP in .223/5.56. It would meet every thing you want except for iron sights. However, I'm sure any competent gun smith could install iron sights for you.

Mossberg mvp some models have fixed sights, and they feed from ar 15 mags.

If the magazines were not a big deal that would open up a lot more options though.

To Surveyor

AR mags are not absolutely mandatory, just very highly desired. That is why I could consider an older, used wooden stocked model. I looked at the MVP as well but it has a flute in a most inconvenient place, right down the center line of the barrel. The gunsmith at the LGS said it would be tough to fit a front sight. I am not in anyway competent in "sights" so I took him at his word. Thanks for the inputs so far.

Looks like the scout and patrol models have sights in the mvp line, other models do not.

Last edited:
If you are willing to eliminate the AR mag requirement the field opens up greatly. If yiu don't have an AR already I don't honestly see a need for a bolt gun that takes AR mags, for me it would actually be a detriment but that is just me.

sights